Why Can't Resource Object Attributes Contain "id," "type," or any "foreign keys?"

Within the Resource Object Fields section, it reads:

. . . a resource can not have . . . an attribute or relationship named type or id.

In order for certain libraries such as Backbone to function properly, id needs to be on the attributes object.

Although has-one foreign keys (e.g. author_id) are often stored internally alongside other information to be represented in a resource object, these keys SHOULD NOT appear as attributes.

Why are these two statements part of the spec?

I believe the first statement is because under data, it already has type and id, they’re just not included in what is considered “fields” as fields are only the attributes and relationships. They are defined as identification. The top level object is the resource you have requested.

I think the second statement is to stop people putting relationships to other resources inside the attributes.

I’m new to the specification and getting to grips with it, this is just my understanding from the spec. I hope I’m right! :slight_smile:

In the specification when it talks about “fields”, the members type, id, attributes (first-level attributes) and relationship names (rels) must share a common namespace. This allows the referencing of “fields” in query parameters such as filter, sort, or include without prefixing by namespaces such as “attributes” or “relationships” and makes these query parameters much cleaner, for example:

GET /articles/1?include=comments

GET /articles/1?include=comments.author

GET /people?sort=age,name

GET /articles/1?include=comments.author&sort=comments.author.name

compared to if fields did not share the same namespace and you had to prefix attributes or relationships because there could be a name collision:

GET /articles/1?include=relationships.comments

GET /articles/1?include=relationships.comments.relationships.author

GET /people?sort=attributes.age,attributes.name