Request for guidance on OpenAPI disallowing DELETE with request body

I’ve been using JSON:API for a few years and am generally familiar with it. Likewise, I have been using OpenAPI/Swagger for a few years and am also familiar with it.

Up to this point I had not needed to implement the write-endpoints for updating relationships, so I only recently stumbled across what I believe is an incompatibility point between the two: OpenAPI, or at least most of the tooling for it, considers a request body on a DELETE request to be an error.

Specific to the JSON:API specs, this means designing a DELETE method on a relationship endpoint, e.g. DELETE /articles/1/relationships/comments from the specs, results in an error from most validation tools. For example, openapi-enforcer has:

Errors: [ EnforcerException: One or more errors exist in the OpenApi definition
    at: paths
      at: /teams/{teamId}/relationships/admins > delete
        Property not allowed: requestBody ]

This topic is not to propose a change to JSON:API, instead, I am looking for guidance on how others have handled this difference between systems.

I’ll start :sweat_smile:

My current workaround does not strictly follow the JSON:API specs, but feels like it conforms to the heart of the specs that I’m okay with the nonconformity. (Especially because I have other validation/etc tooling, since using OpenAPI.)

Basically I add a path like DELETE /relationships/{name}/{id} so that (from the spec examples):

DELETE /articles/1/relationships/comments HTTP/1.1
Content-Type: application/vnd.api+json
Accept: application/vnd.api+json

{
  "data": [
    { "type": "comments", "id": "12" },
    { "type": "comments", "id": "13" }
  ]
}

would become two requests:

DELETE /articles/1/relationships/comments/12 HTTP/1.1
DELETE /articles/1/relationships/comments/13 HTTP/1.1

Of course this has some pros and cons:

• Pro: it is supported by OpenAPI specs, so I can use that tooling.